Facebook   HARD ROCK INFO

REVIEWS 2019 - Page 1

2018   Index   Page 2

WACHENFELDT: The Interpreter - Album
(Threeman Recording - Release date: Feb. 22)
Hard and brutal, yet symphonic and progressive. I can hear elements of both death and black metal. But there's also a pinch of classical and folk music. It's pretty clear that this band want to make something bigger. This is like a magnificent and dramatic extreme metal adventure.
Thomas von Wachenfeldt is the man who arranged ENTOMBED's symphonic "Clandestine" project, and he also played bass on those concerts. He also play guitar in WOMBBATH, and is involved in the project THEY with Alex Hellid (ENTOMBED). He has, as an arranger and studio musician, co-operated with artists in many different genres, like GRAVE, Åsa Jinder, Jan Johansen, YOHIO, Rickard Söderberg, Ereb Altor and many more.
While Thomas take care of vocals, guitars, bass and strings, the other musicians are Jon Skäre on drums and Martin Björklund on lead guitar and strings. Jon began his metal journey in the death metal band OOF EXPAIN, but has also played with OST+FRONT, MASKINISTEN, DEFIATORY, SIGN, SKINEATER and many others. Martin have played with MÅNEGARM and MERCURY X.
The band WACHENFELDT was founded in 2012. Their first EP, "Colophon", came out in 2013. And after a delay, their first album is finally here.
1 thing is for sure, this is definitely not any amateurs.
wachenfeldtband.com
Published: Feb. 17, 2019

Fredrik Klingwall & Julia Black: Sentience - Album
(ViciSolum Productions - Release date: Feb. 22)
This sounds mysterious and melancholy. More like dark pop music than rock. But it's hardly the first time that stuff like this end up here (still not sure why though, as the site is called Hard Rock Info). It might still be something for those who like darker metal, post punk or goth though. So I guess this is not a totally wrong place after all. On the other hand, it's not impossible that fans of Björk (which I actually was listening to in the 90s) might like this too. Not that this is the same, or that Julia sing in the same way. Fans of the later stuff with Swedish artist Thåström should be interested in this as well. But once again, not really the same thing as that either. And even though this isn't a regular Hard Rock Info album, I like most of the songs on this record. So there's something positive at least.
This is a very creative product with lyrics in several languages.
Fredrik Klingwall is a Swedish composer and producer, with a background in several bands and projects. He have been working with keyboard productions for bands like LEPROUS and DIABOLICAL, and he has also played live with LOCH VOSTOK and GÖSTA BERGLINGS SAGA.
Julia Black is a Romanian singer/songwriter, rythm guitarist, lyricist, poet, writer and translator. She started her musical career as a solo artist back in the 90s, but has also been a member of several rock bands through the years. Nowadays she is the singer/lyricist of the Romanian symphonic power metal band APOTHEOSES, but is also writing and recording her own music.
The rest of the members of this project is Mattias Olsson (ex-ÄNGLAGÅRD, WHITE WILLOW) on drums and percussion, as well as certain effects and noises. Bassist Gustaf Hielm (PAIN OF SALVATION, Mats & Morgan, DARK FUNERAL). And we also have a string section comprised of Hanna Ekström and Anna Dager of STOCKHOLM STRINGS.
Pre-order: smarturl.it/VSP128
Published: Feb. 17, 2019

IMONOLITH: Hollow - Single
(Self released)
Debut single from a Canadian metal band featuring vocalist Jon Howard (THREAT SIGNAL, ARKAEA), drummer Ryan "RVP" Van Poederooyen (DEVIN TOWNSEND PROJECT), guitarist Brian Waddell (DEVIN TOWNSEND PROJECT), bassist Byron Stroud (STRAPPING YOUNG LAD, FEAR FACTORY), and second guitarist Kai Huppunen (METHODS OF MAYHEM, NOISE THERAPY).
Their mission is simple: To write the heaviest riffs, the biggest hooks, and most monstrous grooves. This song represents their catchier side though, and it's not bad at all. It sounds pretty modern somehow, and have both harder and more melodic parts.
I think you should check this out.
youtu.be/57tcysG4QgY
Published: Feb. 17, 2019

SISTA BRYTET: Dead Before You Know It - EP
(Luftslott Records/No Front Teeth Records)
Even though this band have a Swedish name, they sing in English on this EP. And the music is punk rock in the good old tradition, with lots of rock n roll and sing-along friendly choruses that you can yell along to. Really good stuff!
SISTA BRYTET released their latest album, "Hjärtat I Handen", in May 2018. But when that album was recorded, there was a few songs left which had lyrics in English. So in late 2018 they decided to finish those songs, and release them as the 4-track EP "Dead Before You Know It".
The band took their first steps in 2010. But it wasn't until 2014 that all the pieces fell into place. They released a EP in 2012, a split EP with POPTERROR in 2014, and their first full length album in 2016.
luftslottrecords.com
Published: Feb. 17, 2019

CRIPPLE BASTARDS: La Fine Cresce Da Dentro - Album
(Relapse Records)
Well, these Italian grindcore legends have been around for an eternity now. And grindcore is hardly any of my favorite genres, and I have not heard too much of their stuff through the years. But this wasn't so bad. Probably because they are from the punk scene, and add a lot of crust core to their songs. There is some metal too though. All songs are in Italian.
Most songs are pretty short, so there's as much as 18 tracks here. But there's 2 songs that are a little longer than the rest.
CRIPPLE BASTARDS celebrated their 30-year anniversary with the release of their 7th full length album, "La Fine Cresce Da Dentro", in November last year. The album was recorded at Fredman Studios in Göteborg, Sweden with producer Fredrik Nordström (AT THE GATES, DARK TRANQUILLITY etc etc etc).
These Italians show no signs that they have become old and slow. No, this is just as violent and hateful as I guess it always has been. Luckily they are never too noisey or chaotic, which makes them better than many other bands in this genre.
cripple-bastards.com
Published: Feb. 17, 2019

The COATHANGERS: F the NRA - Single
(Suicide Squeeze)
This is the second single from their upcoming album, "The Devil You Know", which will be released on March 8. F stands for "fuck" and the lyrics is a clear political stance against US arms laws. A protest song you could say. But a very catchy protest song. I think of pop punk and riot grrrl when I hear this. Absolutely not bad. I think you should check this out as once.
thecoathangers.com
Published: Feb. 17, 2019

TRAUMA: As The World Dies - Album
(Pure Steel Records - Release date: Feb. 15)
This band released the album "Scratch And Scream" in the 80s. Then it took something like 3 decades before they decided to reunite. A remastered version of the debut was released through Shrapnel, and in 2015 they released their second album, "Rapture And Wrath". And now, after almost 4 years, a third album is here.
The latest lineup of the band features founder/vocalist Donny Hillier and old drummer Kris Gustofson, together with the new members Joe Fraulob (DANZIG) on guitar, Steve Robello (DUBLIN DEATH PATROL) on guitar and bassist Greg Christian (TESTAMENT).
TRAUMA deliver American heavy metal that will remind you of the past, but with a modern edge. And they have a lot of good candy among these 10 pieces. This is absolutely a album that you have to check out if you have any interest in heavy metal at all.
traumametal.com   puresteel-records.com
Published: Feb. 16, 2019

STEEL RAISER: Acciaio - Album
(Iron Shield Records - Release date: Feb. 15)
The STEEL RAISER project came to life by an idea of 2 Italian metal lovers, Gian Luca Rossi and Alfonso Giordano. They decided to start a new adventure, and in 2007 they recorded their first demo. Their first album, "Race Of Steel", was released just a few months later. But after that it took 5 years before their second album, "Regeneration", was released in 2013. It didn't take that long before their third album, "Unstoppable", was released. It came out in 2015. And now their 4th album is ready to be released.
Uptempo songs are mixed with more melodic stuff, but it's yet catchy and heavy. And this is absolutely not a bad heavy metal album that they have created. I think you should check it out as soon as possible, because this is something that every fan of traditional heavy metal should like.
facebook.com/SteelRaiserOfficial   ironshieldrecords.de
Published: Feb. 16, 2019

RAVAGER: Thrashletics - Album
(Iron Shield Records - Release date: Feb. 15)
RAVAGER is a thrash metal band from Walsrode, Lower Saxony in Germany. The band was founded in late 2014 when 2 guys wanted to start a new band. Their first demo EP, "Alarm Clock Terror", was released by themselves in March 2016, and in the end of that year they signed to Iron Shield Records, who released their debut album in 2017. And now their second full length is here.
This is a album for those of you who like your thrash metal in the good old way. And they are definitely not bad at all. I'm pretty sure that you will like this.
ravager-thrash.de   ironshieldrecords.de
Published: Feb. 16, 2019

SNAKE TONGUE: No Escape No Excuse - EP
(The Sign Records - Release date: Feb. 15)
With this 4-track EP the band wanted to have a more rough and dirty sound than the debut album, "Raptors Breath", which came out in 2016. So they entered the studio with Seth Norder (WITCHERY, NEKROKRAFT) as producer to get the right darkness. And this is raw, dirty and brutal. The dark and harsh lyrics of the EP reflects a reality/society in decline, but also calls for action, resistance and reflection.
I guess we can call their music metal/crust punk. That's what these songs sound like to me anyway. They call themselves a hardcore band on their web site though. But hardcore can be a lot of different things nowadays. This is music for those who want it hard and aggressive anyway.
SNAKE TONGUE are from Linköping and Norrköping in Sweden.
snaketongueofficial.com
Published: Feb. 15, 2019

DZJENGHIS KHAN: Dzjenghis Khan - Album reissue
(Heavy Psych Sounds Records - Release date: Feb. 15)
This San Francisco band formed back in 1977, but their debut album wasn't released until 2007. And now it will be released again, but for real (read on). The music is acid/psych rock like it was done in the 60s. The sound is dirty, fuzzy and raw. Almost lo-fi. Hardly something that was hot in 2007. I think that fans of a band like The STOOGES might like this. It's a really good rock album anyway, so you should definitely give this a try.
The story about this band is a little weird though, as nobody seems to know exactly who the members really are. Which have been the subject of much speculation over the years. But by the turn of the century the band was made up of Binxebus Eruptum on bass, Lane Rider on guitar and Tommy Tomson on drums. It is unknown which member sang. None of these men had ever even met any of the original members, as there had been approximately 333 lineup changes at this point in the band's career. But again, this figure has been widely disputed.
Convinced by Dutch entrepreneur Guy Tavares to abandon their lives in San Francisco and move to Den Haag in 2007, the band recorded what would become their penultimate LP. Once released on Motorwolf and Leafhound Records on their respective continents, both corporations promptly declared bankruptcy, and most copies of the release were destroyed shortly thereafter. Fact is that none of said members returned any of the calls about this reissue, which will probably lead to even more speculations about the band.
Published: Feb. 14, 2019

CAUSTIC VOMIT: Festering Odes To Deformity - Demo Cassette/Digital
(Redefining Darkness Records - Release date: Feb. 15)
This sounds like it would have been recorded live in their rehearsal room. Their music is some kind of doom and death metal with low and guttural death growl. The tempo is mainly slow and heavy, and the songs are pretty long - 9-11 minutes. But it can suddenly happen that they play just a little bit faster, and then play a guitar solo as well.
I guess it's not totally worthless, but I have heard better. The songs are a little too long for my taste.
redefiningdarkness.com
Published: Feb. 14, 2019

Bror Gunnar Jansson: Stay Out All Night Long - Single
(Playground Music)
Behind the not so cool Swedish name Bror Gunnar Jansson is a whole 1-man orchestra. And he play some cool blues rock for us in this song.
Bror Gunnar comes from Göteborg, and let loose an unholy mixture of blues, country and American folk music in his songs. He have so far been a 1-man band, playing electric guitar, drums and singing. But he will actually do some gigs with a band during 2019.
He has released 3 albums before, which have done good in other countries. Like France for example, where he have been on TV, and been played on the radio. And the 4th album, "They Found My Body In A Bag", will be released in the fall.
playgroundmusic.com
Published: Feb. 14, 2019

BLECKHORN: Dragonfire - EP
(Label unknown.. Self released?)
The story of the Swedish heavy metal band BLECKHORN began when former HAMMERFALL bassist Magnus Rosén decided to contact renowned guitarist, songwriter and producer Jayce Landberg after hearing 1 of his compositions. They soon decided to team up with singer Göran Edman (ex-Yngwie Malmsteen, John Norum, MÅRRAN etc etc) and 220 VOLT drummer Peter Hermansson.
The lyrics are influenced by old norse mythology, but I would not call them a viking metal band because of that, because there are no folk music influences, but just pure heavy metal.
"Dragonfire" is their debut EP, which consist of 4 really good songs. Fans of the bands that some of these guys have played with before should not be dissapointed, even though it's not exactly the same.
Published: Feb. 14, 2019

VANIR: Allfather - Album
(Mighty Music - Release date: Feb. 15)
VANIR started their crusade in 2009, and this is their fifth long journey. The band consist of some Danish vikings, who play melodic death/black metal and sing in both English and Danish. They call it viking metal though, and focus on melody and heavy riffs, and sing about Nordic mythology and historical interpretations of ancient tyrants and army leaders.
This is something for fans of AMON AMARTH, IMMORTAL, ENSIFERUM and similar acts. I really like what I hear, and so should you.
facebook.com/vanirdenmark   mightymusic.dk
Published: Feb. 14, 2019

Toby Hitchcock: Reckoning - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
Toby Hitchcock is an American vocalist, who have been compared to Bobby Kimball (TOTO), Jimi Jamison (SURVIVOR) and Lou Gramm (FOREIGNER). He use to sing in a band called PRIDE OF LIONS. But while they are taking a small hiatus, Toby got the chance to do a new solo album. So he teamed up with Swedish producer Daniel Flores (MURDER OF MY SWEET, MIND'S EYE, FIND ME), who also play keyboards and some drums on this record. And the result is a melodic rock/AOR album that is just as good as any other album in this genre.
I don't really know what else I should say. But if you like melodic rock/AOR, then you should like this too.
frontiers.it
Published: Feb. 12, 2019

STARBREAKER: Dysphoria - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
Many bands who has done a JUDAS PRIEST cover lately. And why not? They are 1 of the best heavy metal bands in the world. And this band is even named after 1 of their songs. And of course it's "Starbreaker" that they are doing a cover of. But the other songs are their own material, and that stuff sounds just as good as the cover.
In this band former TNT frontman Tony Harnell have teamed up with PRIMAL FEAR and Allen/Lande guitarist Magnus Karlsson. The other members of the band are Jonni Lightfoot on bass and Anders Köllerfors on drums.
The whole thing started as Harnell's solo project, but soon became a band instead. Their first self-titled album came out in 2005. A second album, titled "Love's Dying Wish", was released in 2008. And after more than 10 years their third album is here.
The music is a sweet mixture of melodic hard rock and heavy metal. And I think that this is a great album.
frontiers.it
Published: Feb. 12, 2019

QUIET RIOT: One Night In Milan - CD/DVD, Blu-Ray
(Frontiers Music Srl)
This is a lot better than their latest studio album, which was a very big dissapointment to me. And the few new songs that are included here melt in surprisingly well. This is actually a really good live album, that you definitely should check out. QUIET RIOT is actually a very good hard rock/heavy metal band. And if you have totally missed them, here's a very good introduction to what they have made so far.
This recording comes from their first show ever in Italy, at Frontiers Rock Festival in 2018. And this is also one of the better recordings that I have heard from that festival.
A intersting thing is that they play "Thunderbird", from the multi-platinum album "Metal Health". They have never played that song live before, and I had totally forgotten that song. I really like it now though.
I must also say that their new singer, James Durbin, is doing a really good job here. Maybe a little too much screaming here and there for my taste, but the audience can't fall asleep, so I understand.
quietriot.band   frontiers.it
Published: Feb. 12, 2019

BLACK MASS: Warlust - Album
(Iron Shield Records - Release date: Feb. 15)
BLACK MASS is a little like a more clean VENOM. Thrash/black metal and MOTÖRHEAD like it sounded in the early 80s. Very good stuff of course.
This American power trio formed in early 2012, and released their first EP, "The Second Coming", in April 2013, which was followed by the debut album, "Ancient Scriptures" in October 2015. Now their second full length is here. And it's a album I think that you should absolutely check out.
Best song: "Graveyard Rock"
facebook.com/BlackMassBand   ironshieldrecords.de
Published: Feb. 11, 2019

ASCHEREGEN: Untot - Album
(Pure Underground Records - Release date: Feb. 15)
Debut album from a German heavy metal band, who has choosen to sing in German instead of English. Some of the members are well-known in the German metal scene, and have been active since the 80s. And classic 80s heavy metal is their biggest influence. There's both male and female vocals.
This is actually not so bad. They have some good songs among these 13 tracks. But 13 tracks is (as too often) a few too many according to me. Could still be worth checking out though. Try "Hey Christina" for example, which will probably make you think of Ozzy Osbourne's "Mr. Crowley". But this song is more catchy, and not so dark.
facebook.com/Ascheregen.Band   puresteel-records.com
Published: Feb. 11, 2019

INGLORIOUS: Ride To Nowhere - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
So, this is the third album by the British hard rockers INGLORIOUS. I have already succeeded to forget how their 2 previous albums sound like, but if my memory isn't totally wrong, I think I liked those albums. And this album is not so bad either.
The band spent most of 2018 locked away recording the album, which was again mixed by the legendary Kevin Shirley (LED ZEPPELIN, AEROSMITH). And what they have made is an album filled with influences from all kinds of iconic rock bands from the 1970s up until today. We have rock riffs, melodies, bluesy overtones and powerful vocals. There's even an acoustic ballad here. A complete rock album with everything you can ask for.
inglorious.com   frontiers.it
Published: Feb. 10, 2019

JETBOY: Born To Fly - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
JETBOY was founded back in 1983 already by guitarists Billy Rowe and Fernie Rod. This is their first new material since 1990. And what they have been doing since then is unknown to me. But when Frontiers Music wanted to sign them, they finally got the thumb out of the ass and made some new songs for a new album.
And that was a very good idea, as this is very good stuff. I think of DEF LEPPARD around "High n Dry" and "Pyromania", and 70s AEROSMITH when I listen to this album. Timeless hard rock n roll you could say. With that I mean that it's a hard rock album, but with much rock n roll, and even some blues influences. Just like the bands from the 1970s that they grew up with.
jetboyrocks.com   frontiers.it
Published: Feb. 10, 2019

Kane Roberts: The New Normal - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
I don't really know what I should think of this album, but it's not that good anyway. Not even some help from his former band leader Alice Cooper and Alissa White-Gluz (ARCH ENEMY) in 1 of the songs can change that. I just get confused when I listen to this. Should I call it pop or rock for example? He seems to have a good voice though. But a good voice doesn't help that much when you don't seems to know how to make a good song. Then it's just a waste of good resources. I can count the good songs on this album on just a few fingers. But he is at least going his own way, and is absolutely doing his own thing.
Kane Roberts is most well-known for being guitarist for Alice Cooper back in the 80s, looking like Rambo and shooting fires on the crowds from his M-80 shaped guitar. He was a big guy with muscles. Cool then as I was just a kid, but extremely funny nowadays. But except for playing guitar with Alice Cooper, he has also recorded a few solo albums. Which was news to me. Because I have never ever heard about his solo career before this album. Funny as he have had a few top 40 hits, but that was probably just in the States. He have also worked with several artists, and even done music for films.
kaneroberts.com   frontiers.it
Published: Feb. 10, 2019

BOTTLECAP and ONDT BLOD at Bengans Fik in Göteborg, Sweden on February 9, 2019
Well, welcome to Sweden. The country where you have to wait for about an hour before the action even begins. And what is stage light? No, let's have an ugly light strand in the drums in different colours, and just a few weak headlights instead.
ONDT BLOD, from northern Norway, was the first band out this evening. And I wasn't so positive when I reviewed their latest album, "Natur", almost a year ago. Then I called their music a mixture of hardcore/punk and American pop. But after this show I would like to change that to hardcore with a touch of metal, and sometimes more melodic parts. The more aggressive hardcore parts is still what I like best with this band, and to see them live was much more interesting than listening to their album. So yes, they did a really good job. They seems to be the kind of band that you should see live. The singer was standing on the floor more than he stood on the small stage. And that's alway cool of course.
Ondt Blod   Ondt Blod   Ondt Blod   Ondt Blod   Ondt Blod
The last band was BOTTLECAP from Göteborg, Sweden. An energetic but catchy trio. I'm actually not really sure how I should describe their sound though. Garage punk maybe? Because that's what they sound like to me anyway. Sometimes more garage rock, sometimes faster punk rock. All 3 members was singing, and they was really good. So good that I had to buy a record with them after the gig. This band can really deliver a good show, and their songs was really good too.
A local kid called "Punk Jon", who use to stand on Järntorget and play punk, was in the audience. So they did a cover of BLACK FLAG's "Nervous Breakdown" with him. That was funny.
Bottlecap   Bottlecap   Bottlecap   Bottlecap   Bottlecap   Bottlecap
ondtblod.bandcamp.com   soundcloud.com/bottlecap
Published: Feb. 10, 2019

A HERO FOR THE WORLD: West To East Pt. II, Space Ranger - Album
(Jacob K Music - Release date: Feb. 15)
I didn't expect a new album so soon, as he released a Christmas album just a few months ago. Jacob seems to be a very active man. And this is just as bombastic and ambitious as it use to be. The music is best described as symphonic and cinematic power metal. It's a little like power metal versions of the soundtrack to some Disney adventure, which I actually thought it was (songs from movies at least). But this guy is so ambitious that he has already made the soundtrack to his own space adventure. Cool somehow. But you usually make the film before the soundtrack.
"West To East Pt. II, Space Ranger" is the follow-up to "West to East Pt. I: Frontier Vigilante", which was released 2 years ago. The first album in this trilogy saw our unnamed hero go into the Wild West, the second into Outer space, and the third and final album (scheduled for 2020) hopefully sees him go back to Earth, to Asia.
As usual there's also a Deluxe Extended Edition with instrumental versions of all 14 songs, plus some additional instrumental interludes.
facebook.com/aherofortheworld
Published: Feb. 9, 2019

HELLNITE: Midnight Terrors - Album
(Sliptrick Records - Release date: Feb. 12)
HELLNITE was originally formed in Mexico City in 2010, but have now re-established in Edmonton, Canada by founding member Paolo Belmar (vocals/guitar). "Midnight Terrors" is the band's debut album, and it was written and recorded by Belmar himself. He has since then found some new members: bassist Konnor Miskiman and drummer Ryan Payne.
This record is lyrically a paranormal and sci-fi themed concept album, with influences from classic heroes such as KREATOR, SLAYER and DEATH, along with next-generation thrash and heavy metal acts such as HAVOK and SKULL FIST. Note that I said influences from those bands. Because it doesn't really sound exactly like any of them. But fans of the old school will still like this.
The only thing I can complain a little about, is that he is playing for a little too long once in a while. Too many long instrumental distances without any reason. I don't know if he is trying to be progressive or whatever the reason can be, but he should calm down on that until next time.
facebook.com/Hellnite.Mx   sliptrickrecords.com
Published: Feb. 9, 2019

The WANDERING ASCETIC: Crimson - Album
(Transcending Obscurity Asia - Release date: Feb. 12)
This sounds very familiar somehow. Some kind of black/thrash metal with melody you could say. And I like what I hear on this album. They have a good sound, that is both hard and melodic at the same time. And it sounds like they know what they're doing. So yes, this is definitely worth checking out.
The band comes from Singapore, and consist of 2 guys from RUDRA and 2 other guys. I don't really know what else I can say about this as I couldn't find much more information about this band. So let the music do the talking instead.
facebook.com/wanderingascetic   tometal.com
Published: Feb. 8, 2019

Marcus Wilsson: Fem Tjugoett - Album
(Kulturkollektivet - Release date: Feb. 9)
Swedish singer/songwriter with a touch of rock n roll here and there. It makes me think of Swedish artist Ulf Lundell somehow, so I doubt that this is something for the readers of Hard Rock Info.
This is more like the kind of stuff that "regular Johnson" (what we in Sweden call Svensson) listen to. He thinks he know rock music, but he obviously doesn't know too much about it. Because this is more singer/songwriter than rock.
This 27-year old guy is from Falköping, and have been playing in various bands for 10 years. Now he goes solo and think that he finally will succeed. The lyrics describe life in a Swedish small town, the daily life with its ups and downs.
Published: Feb. 8, 2019

AD PATRES: A Brief Introduction To Human Experiments - Album
(XenoKorp Records - Release date: Feb. 8)
This French death metal band formed in 2008, and released their debut album, "Scorn Aesthetics", in 2012. It's still 1 of XenoKorp's best-sellers. But it's not until now that their second full length is ready to be released.
Their music is uncompromising and aggressive, just like it should be. They top that with good musicianship and heaviness. The lyrics delving deep into the human mind's darkest recesses, which makes a somber parallel between psychology and religion.
This is simply a damned good death metal album!
adpatres.net   xenokorp.com
Published: Feb. 7, 2019

MEKA: Ending My Life To Destroy Yours - Cassette/Digital album
(Redefining Darkness Records - Release date: Feb. 8)
This band is hardly here to make you happier. It's dark and cold, hard and heavy, aggressive and brutal, filthy and noisey. Or blackened death metal if you want the shorter description to this.
MEKA have taken their name from the Polish word for torture. And that's a very suitable name. Because this is, as I said in the beginning, not something that will make you happy. But I must say that I have definitely heard worse in my life.
redefiningdarkness.com
Published: Feb. 7, 2019

NIGHTRAGE: The Damned - Single
(Despotz Records)
Yet another single from their new album. And what can I say? It's another great song from a really good album, that will be released on March 29. I actually think of ARCH ENEMY when I hear this song. And that's a band that I really like. It seems like NIGHTRAGE are better than ever. This is a must!
nightrage.com   despotz.se
Published: Feb. 7, 2019

NEBULA: Charged - Album reissue
(Heavy Psych Sounds Records - Release date: Feb. 8)
This album sounds like a The STOOGES for the early 2000s. Sure it's desert rock, but there's also that mixture of garage rock, proto-punk and psychedelic rock that The STOOGES had. A other good description (that I found in the info about this record) is "a heavy fuzz rock trip into the desert". And this is definitely not bad at all, even though they might not have the same hit potential as The STOOGES had. This is still a must for all fans of stoner rock and any kind of heavy rock. No doubt about that!
"Charged" was originally released in 2001 through the now legendary label Sub Pop Records. It's the band's second album, and it has now been remastered. The CD version will also have 2 bonus tracks - a demo version of "Giant" and "Cosmic Egg".
facebook.com/NebulaBand   heavypsychsounds.com
Published: Feb. 6, 2019

The SLURS: Shatter Sessions - Album
(Self released? - Release date: Feb. 8)
The SLURS was formed in 2015 by 4 veterans of the Milwaukee music scene, and this is their debut album. They play loud and raw, but yet catchy, rock n roll with a touch of punk. Their sound is reminiscent of classic acts like The STOOGES, MC5 and AC/DC, as well as smaller bands like ELECTRIC FRANKENSTEIN, The CANDYSNATCHERS and MURDER CITY DEVILS.
They have some really good songs here, so you should absolutely give them a try (or 5). If we should mention some more bands, then I think that pepole who like something like SOCIAL DISTORTION might like this. People who like good old punk rock, but also garage rock or even action rock might like this. So check out a song like "Do What You Want" for example. Or why not "Trust No One"? Another good song that you can try is "I Wanna Destroy You".
theslursmke.bandcamp.com
Published: Feb. 5, 2019

NEGATIVE WALL: Gammagelu - Album
(Black Doomba Records - Release date: Feb. 8)
Debut album with a doom metal trio from Georgia, who formed as late as last year, and recorded these songs after just 7 rehearsals. The album features 3 sci-fi themed originals and a cover of ELECTRIC WIZARD's "Torquemada 71". And as there's just 4 songs, I guess it's not so hard to figure out that they are long. But they are not extremely long, just 6 to approximately 8 and a half minutes. Their own 3 songs are all about aliens.
Worth checking out.
negativewall.bandcamp.com   facebook.com/blackdoombarecords
Published: Feb. 5, 2019

ELECTROCUTION: Psychonolatry - Album
(GoreGoreCords - Release date: Feb. 8)
ELECTROCUTION originally formed back in 1990, and they are from Italy. "Psychonolatry" is their first album in 5 years. Their music is death metal of the more violent kind, yet not extreme and too much. I think it's even a little technical sometimes, but it's probably not more technical than any other death band.
facebook.com/Electrocution.band
Published: Feb. 5, 2019

The SCARS IN PNEUMA: The Path Of Seven Sorrows - Album
(Promethean Fire/Kolony Records - Release date: Feb. 8)
The SCARS IN PNEUMA initially started as a solo project of Lorenzo Marchello (vocals/guitars/bass) in the beginning of 2017, but turned into a band when Francesco Lupi (guitars) and Daniele Valseriati (drums) joined the ranks later during the same year. They are from Italy, and play black metal, even though you can also hear some death metal with melodic riffing and epic passages, as well as a touch of doom. Acts that can be called inspiration to their music are DISSECTION, MGLA, BE'LAKOR, ROTTING CHRIST, FORGOTTEN TOMB, BLUT AUS NORD and EMPEROR. When it comes to their lyrics, it's all about themes such as dealing with your own demons, life's biggest regrets, the passing of time and the beloved people we lost.
"The Path Of Seven Sorrows" is their debut album, and it's not bad at all. I like that it's not just brutal and pedal to the metal, but also good guitar melodies.
Published: Feb. 4, 2019

The REVERBERATIONS: Changes - Album
(Beluga Records - Release date: Feb. 7)
If you like catchy rock from the 60s, then this is a band for you. The REVERBERATIONS play an interesting mixture of garage rock and psychedelic rock that you just must like. It's that simple!
This band have released records since 2014, and comes from Portland, OR, USA. Their label describe the album like this: "a kaleidoscopic trip which flies away from the garage on a psychonautic journey." It's said to be more psychedelic than their previous releases.
Now I don't know much else about this band, so I don't really know what else there is to say. Just check this out and like it.
thereverberations.bandcamp.com   belugarecords.com
Published: Feb. 3, 2019

GAST: Mörkret Kallar - EP
(Black Market Metal Label)
Debut album from a Swedish black metal band. They are as best when they put the pedal to the metal. Not so interesting when they play a little heavier though, which they do now and then. But they are mainly hard and raw, so that's just a small detail.
7 tracks is what we get. All lyrics is in Swedish. I don't know what else there is to say..
blackmarketmetallabel.bigcartel.com/product/gast-morkret-kallar
Published: Feb. 2, 2019

FRANCES BLOOM: Animal - Single
(Ninetone)
FRANCES BLOOM is a new Swedish rock band. Their label describe them as "a powerful three course for hungry rock fans in Sweden, who had been allowed to go on the starvation diet regarding good new rock music in recent years". They might be powerful, but 1 thing is very sure: There have been no shortage of good rock music in this country during the latest years. There's lots of great rock bands in Sweden!
Anyway, back to FRANCES BLOOM then. They have former members of a band called SHERLOCK BROTHERS, and play a mixture of metal, grunge and new rock. And they do it with the energy of a young man. Luckily it sounds pretty good too. Maybe you should check them out then?
francesbloom.com   ninetone.com
Published: Feb. 2, 2019

ZOHAMAH: Spreading My Ashes - Album
(Redefining Darkness Records - Release date: Feb. 1)
This is the debut album from this Israeli band, who combine death metal, black metal and doom metal into a toxic cocktail. But don't drink it! Just listen to it. It's the sound of a tormented soul. It's dark and gloomy.
They are not the fastest band, but not really heavy either. It seems like they concentrate more on melody and aggression instead. And this is actually not so bad. I think you should give it a chance.
The band name ZOHAMAH is taken from the Kabbalah, and translates to "darkness" or "pollution". It's a form of evil that results in kilkull (or spiritual damage).
facebook.com/zohamahband   redefiningdarkness.com
Published: Feb. 1, 2019

THETAN: Abysmal - Album
(Anti Corporate Music - Release date: Feb. 1)
18 tracks of fast and pissed off hardcore/punk, with songs that are from 44 seconds to 1,28 minutes. Very explosive stuff. It's over in something like 18 minutes, so you can always ask if this really is a full length. On the other hand, I don't think that I could take more than this at once. It's not bad, but very extreme and noisey. So it's on the border to what I can accept.
THETAN spawned from the remnants of Nashville hardcore band SANCTIONS in 2011. It's a duo with 2 angry guys. Their first EP, "Welcome To Whine Country", was recorded merely 3 months after their first rehearsal. Since then they have released 1 LP and 5 split releases, and a handful of oddball releases and compilation tracks.
After nearly a 4-year hiatus from releasing new material, THETAN is now back with their second album, "Abysmal". A powerful and violent hardcore album that will make your parents crazy.
thetan.bandcamp.com   anticorporatemusic.com
Published: Feb. 1, 2019

SEBASTIEN: Behind The World - EP
(Pride & Joy Music - Release date: Feb. 1)
Just about a year after their third album, "Act Of Creation", they are back with a 4-track digital EP. And I honestly don't really know why. Because this sounds like a melodic metal band who try to play pop music. It's not bad, but when I listen to this I get a feeling that I have heard better (and I'm sure that I have, as I have heard a lot). But if you happens to like modern bands like BEAST IN BLACK, BATTLE BEAST, AMARANTHE, CYHRA, FOLLOW THE CIPHER and SONATA ARCTICA, then it's not impossible that you like SEBASTIEN too.
Among these tracks is a duet, "Fight For Love", with Greek singer Yannis Papadopoulos (BEAST IN BLACK).
sebastienofficial.com   prideandjoy.de
Publsihed: Feb. 1, 2019

DER ROTE MILAN: Moritat - Album
(Unholy Conspiracy Deathwork - Release date: Feb. 1)
"Moritat" is the second full length album from the German black metal band DER ROTE MILAN, which tells local stories based on real events during a 30-year war that took place during the 17th century. A central character is the historical figure Schinderhannes, an outlaw considered by some to be the German Robin Hood. These stories, which take place in the south-western Germany's Hunsrück region, are connected to the present through themes of freedom, fear, and fighting oneself in the face of death.
These stories are told in German, with a soundtrack of melodic black metal. It's a combination of vicious blast beats, catchy melodies, and calm, thoughtful moments. 6 tracks is what we get, and it sounds really good to me. I think you should give this a try. Because if you like black metal, then you should like this record too.
Published: Jan. 31, 2019

CRYING STEEL: Steel Alive - Double Album
(Jolly Roger Records - Release date: Feb. 1)
CRYING STEEL was born in Bologna, Italy back in 1982. They released 2 demos (in 1983 and 1984) and participated with 1 song on the compilation "HM Eruption, The Italian Way of Heavy Metal", before they released their first self titled EP in 1985. After 2 more demos (1985 and 1986) it was time for their first full length album, "On The Prowl", in 1987. This is said to be an important album for "the new wave of Italian heavy metal".
In 1988 guitarist, and 1 of the founders of the band, Alberto Simonini and singer Luca Bonzagni left the band, and several lineup changes happened. But in 1994 and 2003 CRYING STEEL reunited the classic lineup again. And in 2006 they began to record a new album, "The Steel Is Back", which was released in 2007. But just after the release, the same 2 guys left the band once again.
In 2013 the band released "Time Stands Steel" with a new lineup. And as late as last year, they released a new album, "Stay Steel", with special guest Tony Mills from TNT and SHY on vocals.
"Steel Alive" includes their first EP and LP remastered on 1 disc, and on the second disc we have a previously unreleased concert from 2016, which was recorded at the Locomotive club in their hometown Bologna, when they celebrated the 30th anniversary of the first EP and LP with a performance of all those songs.
CRYING STEEL play classic heavy metal, just like it used to sound back in the 80s. And this is just as good as any of the British or American bands from the same era. They have many good songs here. So you should absolutely check this out.
Published: Jan. 31, 2019

JAKE STARR AND THE DELICIOUS FULLNESS: All The Mess I'm In - 7" single
(Beluga Records - Release date: Feb. 1)
Jake Starr fronted Washington DC garage rockers ADAM WEST for nearly 17 years, but decided to take a few years off to recharge his batteries. And now his back with a new band, who deliver some really cool high-octane garage rock n roll. I like it! This is the sound of a garage rock band from 1965/1966.
The first track, "All The Mess I'm In", is an original song. While the b-side is a cover of "Biff Bang Pow!" by The CREATION.
Both sleeve and vinyl will come in 4 different colours: blue, red, white, black. So this is something for the collectors.
facebook.com/Jake-Starr-and-The-Delicious-Fullness   belugarecords.com
Published: Jan. 31, 2019

HEY ZEUS: X - Album
(Argonauta Records - Release date: Feb. 1)
Boston-based heavy rockers who release their first album. But don't expect yet another band that sounds like everybody else in this genre. This is actually done with a lot of energy, and sometimes it's almost action rock instead. It's also worth to mention that they are doing a smoking hot version of DEEP PURPLE's "Bloodsucker". This is definitely not bad at all. That cover and the opening track "These Eyes" are among my favorites on this record.
A modern rock album with good old ingredients.
heyzeusrock.bandcamp.com   argonautarecords.com
Published: Jan. 30, 2019

The SONIC DAWN: Eclipse - Album
(Heavy Psych Sounds Records - Release date: Feb. 1)
Here's another one of these bands who have succeeded to make an album that sounds like it would have been recorded back in the 60s hippie era. And I really like this album! Some kind of psychedelic rock is probably the best way to describe this. It's not the most action-filled music when it comes to speed. Many songs are more laid-back, but not always slow because of that. It's often pretty catchy, but yet mysterious, you could say. I think you have a pretty good idea about what this sounds like, and if you like it or not. But if you're a fan of all these retro/vintage bands that we have nowadays, then you should definitely check out The SONIC DAWN.
This trio was formed in Copenhagen, Denmark in late 2013 by some childhood friends. A first 7" record was released in 2014, and their first album in 2015. "Eclipse" is their third album.
thesonicdawn.com   heavypsychsounds.com
Published: Jan. 30, 2019

Mike Tramp: Dead End Ride - Single
(Mighty Music)
The singer from WHITE LION, Mike Tramp, will release his new album, "Stray From The Flock", on March 1. And that's where this little song comes from. A soft and catchy rock song for rainy days. I think of a 80s band like R.E.M. when I hear this. And this is 1 of the few good songs on that album (but more about the album later). I'm not sure if this is something for visitors of this site though, because it's on the border to pop actually.
miketramp.dk   mightymusic.dk
Published: Jan. 30, 2019

MASSIVE: Rebuild Destroy - Album
(Off Yer Rocka Recordings - Release date: Feb. 1)
This is the third album from this Australian hard rock band.
MASSIVE was formed in 2012 because they thought that they didn't have anything better to do than just travel around the world and play rock n roll. Not that they expected that it actually would happen, but 2 albums later it actually has happened. They are not the most well-known band though, but they do this for the love of rock n roll, and I like that.
If this album will change that is hard to tell. But you should absolutely give it a try. And if you like it, spread the word to everybody you know.
massiveoz.com
Published: Jan. 29, 2019

ALMØST HUMAN: XS2XTC - Album
(Fastball Music/Normosis Records - Release date: Feb. 1)
Damned long record. But then there's as much as 15 tracks. And some of the songs are 6-9 minutes long. And then this band might not really be what I like to hear. They play something that I would describe as a modern rock/metal hybrid. Not totally worthless though. It's often pretty hard and heavy, but also melodic. Sometimes it's even progressive. Not the kind of music that everybody else is playing.
ALMØT HUMAN was first born in the 90s, but the band slowly faded a few years later. But in 2008 they were back again. Their debut EP, "Ø", was released in the end of 2014. "XS2XTC" is their first full length album.
facebook.com/almosthuman.ch   fastball-music.com
Published: Jan. 28, 2019

LAZY BONEZ: Kiss Of The Night - Album
(E-X-R METAL Records)
Another funny band name. And it sounds like we are back in the 80s again. Very good stuff though (now that I have been listening too many times). And just like many other hard rock bands with an 80s sound, this is melodic and very catchy, with choruses that makes you happy and want to sing-along. So if you like that, then you really have to check out this band.
What else can I say then? Well, for some reason they call this heavy metal. But the only places on this earth where this could be heavy metal is U.S.A., and maybe Japan. But anyway.. The band was founded in 2012, and features members from the Finnish band TAROT. This is the third album from LAZY BONEZ. This time they focus on their own members, instead of bringing in special guests, like they they have done before.
lazybonez.fi
Published: Jan. 28, 2019

MEDEIA: Xenosis - Album
(Playground Music Finland)
"Xenosis" is the fifth album from this progressive death metal band, who comes from Finland. The album serves as a prologue as well as an epilogue to the band's album trilogy - "Quantum Holocaust: World Domination", "Cult" and "Abandon All". Its twisted story takes place before the trilogy, providing depth and answers, while carrying on an alternative genesis that functions as a platform for all of MEDEIA's work.
"Xenosis" is also their first full-length album featuring the new vocalist Frans Aalto. Now I can't really remember if I have heard this band before, but he is doing a good job anyway. And the music is definitely not bad either.
What we get is 10 tracks in almost 45 minutes. And this is actually 1 of not too many progressive bands that I actually can recomend you to check out.
medeiaband.com
Published: Jan. 28, 2019

BUZZCOCKS: Another Music In A Different Kitchen / Love Bites - Album reissues
(Domino Recording Co)
These 2 albums was originally released in 1978, and is the first full length albums with BUZZCOCKS. So why they have waited until January 2019 to release these 40th anniversary editions is a good question. But those who wait for something good, always wait for too long. Or how was it?
As far as I know, we just get the original album tracks and nothing extra at all. But on the other hand, I had not heard all songs on these albums, so I got a bonus anyway.
"Another Music In A Different Kitchen" have good songs like "Fast Cars", "You Tear Me Up", "Love Battery", "I Don't Mind", to name a few of all the great songs here. This is simply a really good album, and a must-have for fans of punk rock from the early days.
6 months after the debut album, they had already recorded and released their second album, "Love Bites". And the first time I heard it, I though that it must have been a real dissapointment when it came out. But already the second time it was better. This album has good stuff like their classic "Ever Fallen In Love", "Sixteen Again", as well as a few others. They had developed a little bit as both musicians and songwriters on this album, and for some reason there's even 2 instrumental songs on this album.
After releasing a third album, "A Different Kind Of Tension", in 1979 the band continued for a couple of years before finally disbanding in 1981. The band would re-form in 1989 for a number of shows, and they have continued to play live and record albums since, featuring original members Pete Shelley and Steve Diggle. Pete Shelley unfortunately died in December last year. But that won't stop the band. In honour of Pete their concert at the Royal Albert Hall in London, UK in June will be a celebration of Pete's life and music. The band will be accompanied by guest vocalists at this concert.
And if you like BUZZCOCKS, then you also have to check out bands like The UNDERTONES and The JAM. Brilliant stuff!
buzzcocks.com
Published: Jan. 27, 2019

SPLIT/CROSS: Rise Of Discontent - Digital Album
(Self released on Jan. 31)
SPLIT/CROSS is an American trio from South Central PA (Harrisburg and York PA) who combine grindcore, hardcore, sludge and doom. It's most of all crust punk with d-beat drums, but those other ingredients can also appear here and there. It's also pretty aggressive and depressive. But don't take it as it would mean that they're bad. Oh no. This is really good stuff.
This is their first release, and it's a shame that this is just released on their Bandcamp page. This kind of stuff should be released on vinyl. But it's a pretty short album, so maybe a 12" EP? Record labels, wake up!
splitcross.bandcamp.com/album/rise-of-discontent
Published: Jan. 26, 2019

The OSSUARY: Southern Funeral - Album
(Supreme Chaos Records)
The OSSUARY is presenting a blend of BLACK SABBATH-like riffs, dark PENTAGRAM atmosphere and melodic THIN LIZZY/WISHBONE ASH melodies and good old IRON MAIDEN guitar leads. Prog passages honouring CAPTAIN BEYOND can be found in The OSSUARY's sound cosmos, as well as epic excesses a la RAINBOW. But most of all it's 70s heavy rock, or what we call doom metal nowadays.
The band was founded in October 2014 in southern Italy. "Southern Funeral" is their second album, and it's a damned good album that you all should check out at once. And especially if you think that the bands was much better back in the 70s. Then there's absolutely no excuse at all.
facebook.com/TheOssuary
Published: Jan. 26, 2019

SOFY MAJOR: Total Dump - Album
(Deadlight Records)
How should I describe this then? Some kind of alternative indie rock from the 90s maybe? This is a little hard to get a grasp on for me. I listen again and again, but nothing get stuck. It sounds o.k. while I listen though, but honestly not much else.
SOFY MAJOR is a French trio who is said to be influenced by noise rock and hardcore, so I guess that's what they're playing. This is their 4th album.
Nothing else to add..
deadlight.fr
Published: Jan. 26, 2019

SLOW: IV, Mythologiae - Album reissue
(code666 - Release date: Jan. 25)
Yes, they live up to the name of the band, because this is not fast music. Music by the way? This is more like really long pieces of dark atmospheric soundscapes, mixed with something that we could call extreme doom. Not much vocals, even though there's a man who is singing with a dark voice (not really growl) here and there.
This is a Belgian atmospheric funeral doom duo. SLOW is short for SILENCE LIVES OUT/OVER WHIRLPOOL. SLOW started as a band back in 2007, but since 2017 they are a duo. Their 4th album, "IV - Oceans", was released in January 2018. After that they decided to re-release their previous album, "IV - Mytholohiae", which was released in 2015 in very small quantities and sold out quickly. But due to lost data, all voices and drums were re-recorded, and a brand new song, "The Break Of Dawn", was composed and recorded especially for this edition of the album. The artwork is also new. And it has also been re-mixed and re-mastered.
facebook.com/slowdooom
Published: Jan. 24, 2019

HOLLOW LEG: Civilizations - Album
(Argonauta Records - Release date: Jan. 25)
The band that I never can remember if I like or not is here with another record. It's heavy as usual, but yet with a melody. Definitely not bad at all. There's many good pieces here to discover. So I think you should listen to this band instead of listening to some shit heavy trend band that just repeat the same riffs over and over again, and doesn't even have a melody. This is much better for your health than that shit.
Their genre is mainly sludge, and fans of CROWBAR, WEEDEATER and EYEHATEGOD should like this band. "Civilizations" is HOLLOW LEG's 4th full length record.
argonautarecords.com
Published: Jan. 24, 2019

ATOMIC KAVEMEN: Atomic Kavemen - EP
(Self released)
This sounds a little like MISFITS with Glenn Danzig on vocals, even though this singer is far away from as good as Glenn. As a matter of fact, he sounds awful in the first track. Luckily it gets better after that. But the songs are not as strong as the hits that MISFITS could deliver. None of these 6 songs are really good. It goes in through 1 ear and out through the other.
ATOMIC KAVEMEN is a rock band from Oakland, who formed as late as in July last year. So this is just their first release. They have been called everything from "proto grunge" and "punk n roll" to "radioactive garage metal". I think there's a little bit of all. So it's not impossible that both punks and metal heads, as well as those who like grunge, will like this band.
This EP is available for streaming and download from their Bandcamp page:
atomickavemen.bandcamp.com
Published: Jan. 24, 2019

GREEN RIVER: Dry As A Bone / Rehab Doll - Album reissues
(Sub Pop - Release date: Jan. 25)
I remember that they said something like this in a film when it was St. Patrick's Day: "If they can make the river green today, why can't they make it blue the rest of the year?". I don't remember the name of the movie, but could the name of the band have something to do with that? Well, I don't really know. But their music is some kind of punky grunge anyway (or however I should describe it). At least on "Dry As A Bone", which was originally released in 1987 as a 12" mini-LP. Here we get lots of bonus tracks though (singles etc), and 5 of them have never been released before. Among these extra tracks is a cover of American punk band DEAD BOYS' "Ain't Nothin' To Do". I really like DEAD BOYS!
"Rehab Doll" is their full length album from 1988, which also became their last release. It has been expanded with 8 demo recordings - a cover of David Bowie's "Queen Bitch" among others. This album is less punk and more grunge, or alternative rock as it was called back then, because this was before the grunge era had begun. Something was brewing, but it didn't really have a name yet. "Swallow My Pride" reminds me of BLUE ÖYSTER CULT's "This Ain't the Summer of Love".
GREEN RIVER was from Seattle, and formed in 1984. They released 3 12" records and 1 7" single before they split up in 1988. Some of the members of GREEN RIVER moved on to bands like MUDHONEY and PEARL JAM.
subpop.com/artists/green_river
Published: Jan. 23, 2019

INFERITVM: The Grimoires - Album
(Inverse Records - Release date: Jan. 25)
True black metal with a dry sound to make it more primitive and raw (I suppose). Maybe not something that you expect from a band who comes from sunny Spain. But for some people it's not enough with sunshine and alcohol to be happy. For some people it's not that easy. A total darkness hanging over you is not so easy to get rid off. 1 solution to at least cure the pain a little, is to form a black metal band and get your hate and anger out of the system that way.
INFERITVM formed in 2014, and this is their second album. Their inspiration comes from Scandinavian countries: Norway, Sweden and Finland. They are compared with bands like EMPEROR and IMMORTAL. The music is fast and raw, but underneath there's a lot more going on. Maybe not the best that I have heard, but hardly the worst either.
inferitvm.webs.com   inverse.fi
Published: Jan. 22, 2019

GIVE UP THE GHOST: Before Heading Home - EP
(Volcano Records)
Weird band name and record title. And then we also have the funny song title "Ding Dong Song". But when the music start they are pretty hard, but yet melodic. They seems to want a little too much though. Because they have mixed in all kinds of stuff in their modern metal. What does that opera/soprano chick doing there for example? It just sounds so wrong. But maybe that's the whole idea? I hate that fake opera voice, and it has nothing at all to do with or in metal (many people seems to have a other opinion though, as there are hundreds of bands who sing like that).
GIVE UP THE GHOST formed 2 years ago, and they call this their debut album (to me it's a EP though). Their influences comes from melodic death metal, metalcore and hardcore. But it seems like they want to spice it up with some symphonic metal and other stuff.
volcanopromotion.com
Published: Jan. 22, 2019

CORRODED: Bitter - Album
(Despotz Records - Release date: Jan. 25)
It's already 10 years since CORRODED released their debut album, and they were not cool at all according to me. But suddenly something had changed. Because when I heard the new singles for their fifth album, "Bitter", it was suddenly harder and heavier and so much better than before. Well, welcome home boys!
Development might not always be something good, but in this case it was absolutely the right thing to do. They have dared to let in more musical influences this time. But old fans will probably reconize their mixture of hard riffs and melodic parts. That's their roots.
CORRODED comes from Ånge, Sweden. Their music is best described as some kind of modern hard rock with a pinch of metal. And the album title "Bitter" is their description of the climate in today's society. It's a cold and heartless anger. People carry a constant discontent, and are never satisfied. And that has been the inspiration for both music and lyrics on this album.
Best track must be "Breathing".
corroded.se   despotz.se
Published: Jan. 22, 2019

NEBULA: Demos & Outtakes 98-02 - Album
(Heavy Psych Sounds Records - Release date: Jan. 25)
Well, I guess it's not so hard to figure out from the title of this record that it's a collection of demo recordings and outtakes recorded between 1998 to 2002. 5 of the songs are previously unreleased, while the other 5 are known NEBULA songs, but like you have not heard them before. I might also add that 3 of these songs are covers (like the BLACK FLAG classic "Nervous Breakdown" for example).
Now I can hardly call myself a fan of NEBULA, but I think that I might have an old live recording with them, that I recorded from the radio around the same time that this was recorded. I have not heard it since then though, so I can definitely not call myself an expert when it comes to NEBULA.
This trio have been around since 1997 already. They released a number of EPs before their first full length album came out in 1999. What they are playing is guitar-driven heavy/psych rock. And they have some good songs here. No doubt about that. It's like a mixture of Jimi Hendrix, BLACK SABBATH and desert rock.
facebook.com/NebulaBand   heavypsychsounds.com
Published: Jan. 21, 2019

FUSION BOMB: Concrete Jungle - Album
(Iron Shield Records - Release date: Jan. 25)
FUSION BOMB features 4 young men from Luxembourg (if I got it right), who decided to form a thrash band in 2010. They spent the first few years jamming and drinking beer, before they finally started to work on their first EP, "Pravda", which came out in 2016. Due to their interest in the history of the Soviet Union (nowadays Russia), they chose it as the central lyrical and musical theme for the EP.
Now their first full length is ready to be released. And what can I say? No, what this band is doing is hardly anything new at all. Good old thrash metal like it always have been. But it's still damned good, so why complain? I'm pretty sure that you will like this too when you hear it. And especially if you're into legends like EXODUS, D.R.I. and VIOLATOR (o.k., that last band might not be legends).
facebook.com/fusionbomb.lux
Published: Jan. 21, 2019

GAMLA PENGAR: Bon Purée - Double Album
(Beat Butchers)
Gamla Pengar
O.k., I guess that I can admit at once that I wasn't so impressed by this Swedish punk rock band when I saw them live in 2014. This time it's more interesting though, so don't worry. And it's not impossible that they played a few of these songs at that show, because this is a collection of sold out vinyl singles and songs from compilation albums that are a little hard to find. But there's also a few new songs. And the reason why they release this collection, is because they celebrate their 10-year anniversary.
I think of classic Swedish punk rock bands from the late 70s/early 80s when I hear this, but with a modern sound. It's often energetic and with a touch of rock n roll. And their lyrics are topped with sharp social critical satire. Most of these 21 tracks are really good stuff.
This double LP is limited to 300 copies, so you better be fast if you want it in that format. Otherwise it's also available digitally.
gamlapengar.bandcamp.com   beatbutchers.se
Published: Jan. 20, 2019

SWALLOW THE SUN: When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light - Album
(Century Media - Release date: Jan. 25)
SWALLOW THE SUN's creative motor Juha Raivio want to express the darkness in life and the beauty in death. While the 3-album saga "Songs From The North" was inspired by the old forests of Sweden's midlands, this album is by the loss of his life partner and singer/songwriter Aleah Stanbridge (aka Aleah Starbridge). So it's a very personal album. I'm really sorry for your loss.
The music is some kind of atmospheric, gloomy doom. It's mainly slow and heavy, but yet melodic. Hardly any party music, but you don't always want that, do you? No, this is more like something that you play when you come home from work (for example) and just want to relax. Or when it feels like everything sucks. Then this album can give you consolation.
"When A Shadow Is Forced Into The Light" was recorded over a 6-month period at Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden with Jens Bogren (ARCH ENEMY, AT THE GATES, KREATOR, PARADISE LOST etc etc), who co-produced the album with the band.
swallowthesun.net   centurymedia.com
Published: Jan. 19, 2019

SWALLOW THE SUN: Lumina Aurea - EP
(Century Media)
This band is definitely not in a hurry. On this EP we get 1 song that is 13,44 minutes long. First with talking (yes, he is not singing, but just talking here and there) and a "monk choir", and then a instrumental version of the same song. It's a dark and atmosheric piece, and it does actually not give a taste of the new album (this EP was released in December). This is somehow much slower, even though the songs on the album is not exactly any faster works (but more about the album in a seperate review).
This is said to be "the darkest and most painful song in SWALLOW THE SUN's history", according to band leader Juha Raivio. It's like an open wound. I guess that says it all.. Otherwise, read the album review too, and you will figure out why.
swallowthesun.net   centurymedia.com
Published: Jan. 19, 2019

DIABOL BORUTA: Czary - Album
(Pure Steel Publishing - Release date: Jan. 25)
This Polish band mix their folk metal with heavy and thrash metal, and sometimes there's even a black metal atmosphere. This is not like many other folk metal bands. You can hear flute, melodica and synthesizer parts, which they combine with DIMMU BORGIR-like choirs and orchestra, as well as some Eastern music here and there. There's also fast guitars, but yet a heavy and catchy sound. The lyrics are in Polish (the 2 last songs are English versions though).
"Czary" seems to be their 4th album. There's both good and bad stuff among these 12 tracks, but nothing really sucks.
diabolboruta.pl   purerock-records.com
Published: Jan. 18, 2019

CORRODED: Breathing - Single
(Despotz Records)
Swedish band CORRODED have definitely become harder and tougher, and also much better and more interesting. They are about to release their fifth album, "Bitter", and this is the third single from that album. Sure it's harder and tougher, but it's still melodic too. And that combination works very good here, so you should definitely give this band a try. I think you will like it.
The album "Bitter" will be released on January 25, so you will soon have the chance to read more about them here.
corroded.se   despotz.se
Published: Jan. 18, 2019

WAKE THE NATIONS: Heartrock - Album
(AOR Heaven Release date: Jan. 25)
This is the second album from this Finnish AOR/melodic hard rock band. Yet another album in this genre that will take you back to the happy 80s. Catchy and melodic songs for the whole coin. And it's absolutely not bad. They have many good songs here. No doubt about that.
It seems like this band started as a solo adventure for guitarist Risto Tuominen (HUMAN TEMPLE) in 2012. But it soon became a bigger project with lots of guest apperances. In 2015 the debut album finally came out, and got its way to the top 50 of the official Finnish chart in the first week after the release.
It was never meant to be a real band who play live. But they did what was supposed to be a one-time show at the release party of the album. After that they figured out that they have to continue to play live. And so they did. But they have since 2016 also been working on new material, and now the result of that is finally here: "Heartrock".
wakethenations.com   aorheaven.com
Published: Jan. 17, 2019

SECRET RULE: The 7 Endless - Album
(Pride & Joy Music - Release date: Jan. 25)
SECRET RULE was formed in the beginning of 2014 with the ambition to create a sound with powerful rythms and catchy melodies. The result is melodic vocals and melodies backed up by heavy guitar riffs. Very melodic, almost symphonic, metal you could say. They have already released 3 albums between 2015-2017, and now their 4th album is here.
What makes this band a little better than many other female fronted acts, is that the singer actually sing, and doesn't pretend that she's at the opera. This is probably something for fans of bands like SIRENIA, DELAIN, XANDRIA, KOBRA AND THE LOTUS and similar acts.
I might not like all songs, but there's at least a few good ones here.
secretrule.it   prideandjoy.de
Published: Jan. 17, 2019

LUGNET: Nightwalker - Album
(Pride & Joy Music - Release date: Jan. 25)
Oh man, this can actually be one of the best Swedish bands that we have right now in the 70s hard rock genre. Fans of good old DEEP PURPLE, WHITESNAKE and RAINBOW should absolutely check this out. As soon as possible! Probably the best new album in this genre since the latest album with HYPNOS (another Swedish band that you should check out).
LUGNET definitely got the right songs that will make you love this band. And they back it up with powerful but melodic vocals and a driving rythm section.
The band have members from BADGE, ANGEL WITCH and JADED HEART. Their debut album was released in 2016.
lugnetrock.com   prideandjoy.de
Published: Jan. 17, 2019

COME TASTE THE BAND: Reignition - Album
(AOR Heaven - Release date: Jan. 25)
This is a Norwegian band who was founded in 1997 already, and play classic hard rock like it was done in the 70s and 80s. They actually started as a DEEP PURPLE tribute band, and have released 2 albums with songs by DEEP PURPLE. From 2007 to 2010 they were actually playing with former DEEP PURPLE member Glenn Hughes, and in 2011 they teamed up with former RAINBOW and DEEP PURPLE vocalist Joe Lynn Turner, and toured with him until 2014. They also did 2 concerts with former RAINBOW singers Doogie White and Graham Bonnet, as well as Norwegian singer Jorn Lande, in 2014. And when they celebrated their 20-year anniversary in 2017, they did 2 shows with former WHITESNAKE guitarist Bernie Marsden and Doogie White on vocals.
After that last adventure, original guitarist Jo Henning Kaasin started to write new songs together with Doogie White, who is singing on 7 songs on this record, while Joe Lynn Turner is singing on 2 tracks.
I can definitely hear that they are inspired by legendary bands like DEEP PURPLE, RAINBOW, WHITESNAKE and similar. So if you like that, then you really have to check this out. Because this is really good.
facebook.com/cometastetheband   aorheaven.com
Published: Jan. 17, 2019

LUCER: Ghost Town - Album
(Mighty Music - Release date: Jan. 25)
I didn't really expect to hear modern pop. Another album that has end up at the wrong place. This stuff turns my whole body inside out. I guess that says it all..
This is said to fit fans of The STRUTS, Liam Gallagher and DANDY WARHOLS. I don't know if any fans of those artists visit Hard Rock Info though.
LOSER ..excuse me, I mean LUCER, comes from Copenhagen, Denmark, and this is their second album. I don't know why they keep on calling this rock, because it's not. It's way too catchy and melodic. And yes, it could have been good anyway, but unfortunately it's not.
facebook.com/lucerofficial   mightymusic.dk
Published: Jan. 16, 2019

The ALLIGATOR WINE: The Flying Carousel - EP
(Century Media Records - Release date: Jan. 25)
It looks like I have succeeded to download a pop album again. Even though they're funny and call it "vintage rock without guitars". They continue to describe this duo as "a mix of psychedelic moog sounds, distorted organs and thick synth basses that fuse together in a fresh sounding danceable package". And that last description is actually correct.
This is a pretty fresh band, as they formed as late as in 2016. I don't know if this is their first record though. But 3 tracks is what we get here, and even though I whine a little, it's not so bad. I have definitely heard more interesting and much better songs though.
They think that the only right way to listen to this EP is on vinyl, so no CD of this analogue recording. It will however be available digitally too. If this is something for the visitors at Hard Rock Info is a question though..
thealligatorwine.de   centurymedia.com
Published: Jan. 15, 2019

The COATHANGERS: Bimbo - Single
(Suicide Squeeze Records)
Atlanta-based trio who will release their new studio album, "The Devil You Know", on March 8. And that's where this little song comes from (of course). It's the opening track of the album, and is said to show us the musical direction of the new record. And it start calm before they show a more energetic and raw side. First you think that it's a pop song from the 60s, but then it becomes a raw rock song. I had to listen a few times, but now I like it.
It seems like this band have been around for 12 years already, and "The Devil You Know" is their 6th album.
thecoathangers.com
Published: Jan. 15, 2019

EVERGREY: Weightless - Single
(AFM Records)
"Weightless" is the second single from EVERGREY's upcoming album, "The Atlantic", which will be released on January 25. They have a rumour that they are one of the most innovative progressive metal bands from Sweden. And now I'm hardly an expert when it comes to that subject, even though I have reviewed a few progressive records through the years. EVERGREY are really good though. And this song is not as dark as the last single was. More melodic somehow, but hardly any happy adventure just because of that. Check it out!
evergrey.net   afm-records.de
Published: Jan. 15, 2019

CARNAL FORGE: Gun To Mouth Salvation - Album
(ViciSolum Productions - Release date: Jan. 25)
For some reason CARNAL FORGE makes me think of a band like ARCH ENEMY, but with male vocals. They don't have the same feeling for beautiful guitar melodies though. This is more straight on. Which makes me think of a band like The HAUNTED for example. But I don't really know if I'm right. I might be sailing. One thing I'm absolutely sure about is that this is heavy and hard metal. There's faster songs too though. Like the shortest song "Endless War".
CARNAL FORGE is a thrash metal band from Sweden, and this is their first new album in 11 years. The band was formed back in 1997, in a small town called Sala. Since then they have released as much as 7 full lengths and 1 live DVD. They have also been touring in Europe, USA and Japan, and have also played at several festivals through the years.
This is definitely a band that you should lend your ears to, because they are fucking great.
carnalforge.se
Published: Jan. 14, 2019

MILLENCOLIN: Nothing - Single
(Epitaph Records)
Millencolin
New single from Swedish skate punk veterans MILLENCOLIN. And it's just as catchy and melodic as you can expect it to be, so this should not dissapoint any of their fans. I like it a lot!
This is the second single from their upcoming new album, "SOS", which will be released on February 15. MILLENCOLIN have existed for something like 25 years, and that will be their 9th studio album. It has been the same 4 guys all the way, which is impressive.
Well, I really liked their last album, so I look forward to hear the new album.
millencolin.com   epitaph.com
Published: Jan. 13, 2019

SHENANIGANS: Muta In Potenza - Album
(Earthquake Terror Noise)
SHENANIGANS was founded in early 2014. A self-produced demo, called "Assenza di Eroi", was released in 2015. In October 2017 they entered the studio to record their debut album, "Muta In Potenza", which was released in September 2018.
What we have here is some kind of Italian hybrid of hardcore/punk and thrash metal. All lyrics are in Italian. I know that Italy have had a few hardcore/punk bands through the years, but I don't know much about the thrash metal scene down there. This sounds good though, so maybe you should check this out. It will probably work both for punks and thrashers.
shenanigansit.bandcamp.com   earthquaketerrornoise.com
Published: Jan. 13, 2019

RIFFTERA: Across The Acheron - Album
(Inverse Records - Release date: Jan. 18)
The year was 2010 when the Finnish metal band RIFFTERA was founded in a town called Vaasa. From the beginning the idea of the band was basically just to get the music released in a form that they thought it deserved. After a couple of demo recordings, the band decided that it was time to record their debut album in 2014, where Björn "Speed" Strid from SOILWORK is doing a guest apperance on the song "Rotten To The Core". Their live debut didn't take place until the end of 2016 though, as they didn't have a drummer until then. The recordings of their second album, "Across The Acheron", started in the summer of 2017, and was completed in October 2018.
RIFFTERA's music is both hard and aggressive, as well as soft and melodic. There's both scream and clean vocals. I guess we can call it something like melodic death/thrash metal. Really good stuff anyway. So you should absolutly give this a try.
rifftera.com   inverse.fi
Published: Jan. 12, 2019

ARCH ENEMY: Covered In Blood - Album
(Century Media - Release date: Jan. 18)
Michael Amott, Arch Enemy
What we have here is a collection with as much as 24 covers that they have recorded through the years. And it's a wild mixture of old Swedish hardcore/punk (sometimes in Swedish, even though the singer, Alissa White-Gluz, is from Canada), hard rock and heavy metal. But there's also a few surprises, like TEARS FOR FEARS and Mike Oldfield for example. I like most of the songs, but those old Swedish hardcore songs was extra fun to hear. I really like that stuff! MODERAT LIKVIDATION, ANTI CIMEX and the whole self titled 7" EP by SKITSLICKERS is what we get when it comes to that. But we also get some old British hardcore/punk - GBH and DISCHARGE. Other cool stuff is "Back To Back" by PRETTY MAIDS, "The Zoo" by SCORPIONS, "The Oath" by KISS and 2 covers by EUROPE, "Wings Of Tomorrow" and "Scream Of Anger", just to name a few of them all. And among the other bands are JUDAS PRIEST, IRON MAIDEN, QUEENSRŸCHE, MEGADETH, MANOWAR, DREAM EVIL and Michael Amott's old band CARCASS.
ARCH ENEMY are of course putting their own twist on these songs, which sometimes makes it sound like they would have made these songs themselves. So even if you might not like some of these artists, you will probably like these versions of their songs.
archenemy.net   centurymedia.com
Published: Jan. 11, 2019

LEACH: Hymns For The Hollow - Album
(Self released - Release date: Jan. 18)
LEACH comes from Sweden, and this seems to be their second record. I guess we can label their music as some kind of thrash metal, even though there's also elements of hardcore/punk and rock. As it says in the press release: "the insistent energy of a RAISED FIST, the rock n roll parts of a latter-day ENTOMBED, and the infectious melodies of The HAUNTED's Anders Björler." But there's also a touch of the States in this cake, with bands like HATEBREED, EXODUS and NUCLEAR ASSAULT. But that's just the influences for LEACH, and doesn't really mean that they sound like any of those bands, but rather several of them and then some.
If I'm going to make it easy for myself, then I would call this hardcore/thrash metal. Because that's what it's most of here.
facebook.com/leachswe
Published: Jan. 10, 2019

The MOUND BUILDERS: The Mound Builders - Album
(Failure Records and Tapes - Release date: Jan. 18)
Stoner/Sludge metal for fans of HIGH ON FIRE, BUZZOVEN, CROWBAR and similar bands. Yes, they sound very familiar in the heavy league, but they somehow have their own ideas as well. They are not afraid to switch tempo for example. It goes from really heavy to punk and thrash. The vocals is mainly harsh screaming. They have something here that makes them a little better than the rest.
The MOUND BUILDERS is an American band, who released their debut album, "Strangers In A Strange Land", 7 years ago. It's said that this self titled album is a step up compared to their first album.
Published: Jan. 10, 2019

POWERGAME: Masquerade - Album
(Iron Shield Records - Release date: Jan. 18)
For once the cover is not better than their original material. In this case it's the SCORPIONS classic "Blackout". I really like the original version (and the whole "Blackout" album by the way), but POWERGAME's version is not so good. Pretty lame actually. At least compared to their own stuff.
POWERGAME was founded in 2012 out of singer/guitarist Matty's pure passion for NWOBHM. The band's name is taken from a song with TOKYO BLADE. But bands like TYGERS OF PAN TANG, SAMSON, TANK, RAVEN, HOLOCAUST, ANGEL WITCH, DEMON and IRON MAIDEN are also big influences. But POWERGAME is not a British band. They are from Bielefeld in Germany.
This is their second album, but the first on a record label (their debut was self released). Their lyrics often deal with metal clichés, but the songs are just as good as anything that the classic NWOBHM bands released back in the late 70s/early 80s.
facebook.com/powergame.heavymetal   ironshieldrecords.de
Published: Jan. 8, 2019

NUISIBLE: Slaves & Snakes - Album
(Deadlight Records)
Crust punk, death metal or both? That's the question you ask yourself when you hear this band. And I would say that the answer is that there's a little bit of both here. And there's also some "death n roll" in a couple of songs.
NUISIBLE was formed in Rouen, France in 2016. They wanted to play death metal blended hardcore, inspired by bands like CARNIVORE, ENTOMBED, TRAGEDY and similar. It didn't take long before they released their first EP, "Inter Feces et Urinam Nascimur". In spring 2018 the band signed to Deadlight Records, who released NUISIBLE's debut album, "Slaves & Snakes", in September the same year.
Their sound might be a little noisey, but the songs are really good, so this can absolutely be worth a try.
deadlight.fr
Published: Jan. 7, 2019

HELLEVATE: Last Of The Fell - Single
(Self released?)
HELLEVATE is a speed/thrash metal band from Kansas City, Missouri. This single is the first song with the band's new lineup, which includes the newest band members Erik "Jager" Schmutzler on vocals and drummer Edward "Shredward" Unfred. It sounds more like traditional heavy metal than speed/thrash metal to me, even though there's a melodic touch of power metal as well. It's not bad anyway.
hellevate.bandcamp.com
Published: Jan. 7, 2019

LUMBAR: The First And Last Days Of Unwelcome - Album reissue
(Argonauta Records - Release date: Jan. 11)
What kind of crap is this shit? Too much totally useless sounds and noise for my taste. But when they actually play a song, it's the really heavy kind of stuff. Unfortunately for them, they have nothing that impress me. That heavy stuff have been done to death by now. And that irritating noise thing is never funny at all. I just get angry when I hear shit like this.
LUMBAR features YOB's Mike Scheidt, Aaron Edge and Tad Doyle. For some reason they call this album a "doom metal masterpiece". Well, they must have sent me the wrong record then. Because this doesn't sound like doom or a masterpiece according to me. Doom to me is a excellent band like CANDLEMASS. And this has nothing to do with that.
Published: Jan. 6, 2019

STATIC TENSION: Ashes To Animation - Album
(Buried By Sky Records - Release date: January 11)
The first track sounds very meditative. I guess it's supposed to be some kind of intro, because after that it's some kind of alternative heavy rock instead. But with extra everything you could say. It's like a cocktail of classic rock, grunge and progressive metal. This will most likely make you think of classic acts like SOUNDGARDEN, ALICE IN CHAINS, LED ZEPPELIN, BLACK SABBATH and TOOL for example.
STATIC TENSION is a Southern Ohio-based quartet, who have previously released a EP, "Out Of Reach", in 2017. So "Ashes To Animation" is their first full length.
Published: Jan. 5, 2019

CLOUDBURST: Cloudburst - Album
(Samstrong Records)
A man is screaming in every possible way. At the same time some other guys are playing a mixture of metal and hardcore. There are some softer parts, but they doesn't last for too long. This is mainly an extreme album and hardly a Sunday walk in the park.
CLOUDBURST was born in 2011, and comes from Yogyakarta, Indonesia. They released a demo and a split album (with WARMOUTH) in 2014, and their first full lenght album, "Crying Of Broken Beauty", was released in 2016.
It's said that they take their chaotic influences from bands like CONVERGE and BOTCH, and then mix that with shredding guitar solos from SLAYER, Keith Moon-ish pounding drums and maniac vocals similar to PIG DESTROYER and CATTLE DECAPITATION. And they are probably right I suppose. It might not be the hardcore that I use to like, but they don't suck anyway.
burstingcloud.bandcamp.com
Published: Jan. 5, 2019

ARCHANGEL A.D.: Warband - Album
(Self released - CD release date: Jan. 11, already available digitally)
Do you like the raw energy of early METALLICA, SLAYER, MEGADETH and similar bands? Then this is definitely something for you my friend. These guys was probably not even born back then, but they don't let a small detail like that stop them from playing something similar. And why not? They do it really good. I have no reason to complain. And I'm sure that you will like this too.
This is a pretty short album though. Just 6 songs in approxiamtely over half an hour. But it gives us a taste of what they can do, and what we can expect from this band.
archangelad.bandcamp.com
Published: Jan. 5, 2019

VIOLBLAST: Theater Of Despair - Album
(Hostile Media - Release date: Jan. 11)
VIOLBLAST is a thrash quartet from the Barcelona area. They have been playing for a little bit more than 5 years now. They have previously released 1 EP and 1 album, and been touring around Europe. Now their second full length is ready to be released.
Imagine if SLAYER would have been something like 5-10 years younger, and didn't start the band until something like 10 years later. This could actually have been what they would have sound like then - stone hard thrash metal straight into the wall.
No, this band is not doing anything new and unique at all. But that's hardly what they're here for. And people who just love thrash metal will love this anyway. Simple as that.
facebook.com/violblast   hostilemedia.net
Published: Jan. 4, 2019

WOVEN MAN: Revelry (In Our Arms) - Album
(Undergroove - Release date: Jan. 11)
WOVEN MAN were formed by guitarist Lee Roy Davies (ex-ACRIMONY, BLACK EYE RIOT, LIFER), and this is the debut album, which consist of 5 tracks in over 35 minutes. It's a celebration of the Welsh culture, its landscape and a true appreciation of life. It features songs inspired by the classic horror movie The Wicker Man, the loss of loved ones and grief, and a respect and adoration of nature. The music is heavy and riff-strong metal, with inpiration from all kinds of genres, but mainly the heavier kind.
This is very good stuff. Some kind of stoner rock on highest volume. You should absolutely give this a try.
facebook.com/wovenisms   undergroove.bigcartel.com
Published: Jan. 3, 2019

YARN OF THE WICKED: Lore * Anne - EP
(Pagan Records)
YARN OF THE WICKED is a new project exploring the intersection of 60s/70s prog rock and 70s horror films. This is their debut EP, which is inspired by and dedicated to Anne de Boissy and Lore Fournier – the 2 main characters of the 1971 Joël Séria film "Don't Deliver Us from Evil" (original title: Mais ne nous délivrez pas du mal). All lyrics on the EP are from the poems of Charles Baudelaire; which Lore and Anne are fascinated by in the film. The EP draws inspiration from 2 scenes in particular; one where the female characters are reading Baudelaire's "The Flowers of Evil", and the other where they commit suicide by burning themselves alive, accompanied by Baudelaire's poetry.
I'm not really sure if this really is prog rock or what it is. So I guess we can call it that, even though it sounds more like some kind of post rock or lullabies for adults sometimes. Let's just say that this is not something for those who want straight and simple rock n roll. This is more like something for those who want adventurous music (which prog rockers use to).
facebook.com/yarnofthewicked   pagan-records.com/en_GB/index
Published: Jan. 3, 2019

BARBAROSSASTRAßE: Waiting In The Wings - Album
(Volcano Promotion)
BARBAROSSASTRAßE were founded in Siena, Italy in 2003 as a classic hard rock cover band. In 2007 they started to compose their own material, and recorded a 3-track promo. Their first album was recorded in 2011, but not released until April 2013. "Waiting In The Wings" is their second album, which they started to work on in 2015 already. And what we get is 10 tracks of classic hard rock. They have some good songs here. Nothing is brilliant or pure shit. I guess that this is 1 of those albums that you listen to a few times, and you like it, but you will probably never listen to it again. But you should give it a try though.
volcanopromotion.com
Published: Jan. 2, 2019

BÖLTHORN: Across The Human Path - Album
(Broken Bones Records/Envenomed Music)
This trio comes from Parma, Italy and play what they call viking death metal - Death metal with a melodic touch, similar to what bands like AMON AMARTH, BATHORY, OBSCURITY, TYR, MÅNEGARM, ENSLAVED, WINDIR, BORKNAGAR, ENTOMBED and AT THE GATES have done before.
This is their debut album, which consist of 9 songs and a intro. Very good stuff that you should not miss. A perfect blend of brutal vikings and sweet guitar melodies.
facebook.com/Bolthornband   brokenbonesrecords.blogspot.com   facebook.com/envenomedmusic
Published: Jan. 2, 2019

DEAD FRIENDS 46: Hardcore - Album
(Rank-n-File Records)
This is more like early American hardcore/punk legends like BLACK FLAG, DEAD KENNEDYS, POISON IDEA and similar bands from the same era. We talk the late 1970s and the 1980s, before there was metal in hardcore music, and when it still was punk music. So if that sounds like your thing, then this album is something for you.
The band comes from southern California. True stories from the members' lives and salutations to fallen friends drive the writing and influence of this album. Their sound has been called a unique fusion of West Coast/East Coast styles - think SLAPSHOT meets BONECRUSHER, with some early SOCIAL DISTORTION.
Except for their own material, the album also features covers of PETER AND THE TEST TUBE BABIES' "Banned From The Pubs" and SOCIAL DISTORTION's "Mass Hysteria".
Good stuff!
deadfriends46.bandcamp.com   ranknfilerecords.com
Published: Jan. 2, 2019

TOURNIQUET: Gazing At Medusa - Album
(Pathogenic Records)
Some of these songs sounds a little familiar to me somehow. Like I have heard the same songs before. So I was pretty sure that I had reviewed this band before. But no, I could not find any review from the last couple of years anyway. Weird.
TOURNIQUET was formed in L.A. in 1990. They have released 9 full length albums, plus some EPs, live album, acoustic release and numerous solo albums from band leader Ted Kirkpatrick. Top musicians have also graced TOURNIQUET albums – including guitarists Marty Friedman, Frank Marino, Pat Travers, Karl Sanders (NILE), Scotti Hill (SKID ROW), and Bruce Franklin (TROUBLE). Plus vocalists Chris Jericho (FOZZY), Michael Sweet (STRYPER, ex-BOSTON), Dug Pinnick (KING'S X), and Corey Glover (LIVING COLOUR).
They are known as a musician's band with melody, originality and a passion for classic metal. They are not afraid to blend elements of different styles, so the easiest way to describe their music is to simply call it metal. Possibly with a progressive touch now and then.
This 9-track album features vocals from Tim "Ripper" Owens (ex-JUDAS PRIEST, ICED EARTH) and lead guitar by Chris Poland (ex-MEGADETH, OHM). The title track has guest vocals by Deen Castronovo (ex-JOURNEY, REVOLUTION SAINTS).
tourniquet.net
Published: Jan. 1, 2019

MISTY GREY: Chapter II - Album
(Topillo Records/Vertebrae)
Yes, there seems to be thousands of these retro/vintage bands nowadays. But when it's this good, then there's no reason to complain about that. And fact is that old music is in most cases much better than modern music. What is modern music by the way? More or less every band seems to play something that has already been done many years ago.
Well, there's lots of branches on the heavy rock tree. MISTY GREY are lurking on the same branch as early BLACK SABBATH. So classic doom with damned good melodies is my description to this. And I really like what I hear here. This is a fantastic album!
Best track: "Strangers On A Train".
mistygreydoom.bandcamp.com
Published: Jan. 1, 2019